Brass City Charter School

Academic Staff 

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

Barbara Ruggiero, Ph.D., a founder of Brass City Charter School whose varied career demonstrates a lifelong commitment to children’s academic success, comes most recently from Children’s Community School, where she acted as Executive Director/Principal, and before that from Chase Collegiate School. Dr. Ruggiero is a former licensed child psychologist and an experienced school leader with curricular, personnel, community relations, budget, management, and fundraising experience. She has a master’s degree from Harvard University and a doctorate from Boston University.  

Email: bruggiero@brasscitycharter.org

ADMINISTRATION

Lily Zhao assumed the role of Academic Dean after teaching at BCCS in both 2nd and 3rd grade. Teaching first in Boston before coming to Waterbury, urban education has always been her passion. Ms. Zhao hopes to work with the staff and faculty to cultivate a rigorous and meaningful environment that will allow students to take risks, work hard, and achieve their goals. She has seen the limitless possibilities that students can reach when provided with high-quality opportunities and aims to foster that love of learning for students to take with them in Waterbury and beyond. She looks forward to continuing the incredible work, alongside teachers and students, which is happening at BCCS! Email: lzhao@brasscitycharter.org

Kristin White assumed the new position of Coordinator of the Upper School after originally joining BCCS as a sixth grade teacher. Kristin had spent many years at Westover School in positions which included teacher, Dean of Students, and Director of Admissions and has taught in both public and private schools in grades k - 12 during her career.  Ms. White has demonstrated a deep commitment to student growth and to establishing strong partnerships with parents. Students will benefit as she grows the upper school culture including the advisory program and the high school admissions process.

CHIEF OPERATING OFFICER

Nancy Landona, a founder of Brass City Charter School, has had a varied career in grant writing, volunteer coordination, bookkeeping, teaching, curriculum writing, and much more. She earned a degree in early childhood education from Southern CT State University and MEd in instructional design from Western Governor's University.
Email: nlandona@brasscitycharter.org

Heather Byron, Executive Assistant: Operations
Diane Wasilewski, Attendance Clerk / Operations Assistant


Coordinator of Student Culture and Family Engagement

Danielle Gaynor oversees the social-emotional program at BCCS. In addition, she supports and encourages parental involvement in the life of the school. 
Email:dgaynor@brasscitycharter.org

Marilyn Buckle, Student Support
Geoffrey Williams, Student Support

OFFICE COORDINATOR

Sylvia Montes: The first person who greets you when you visit the school, Ms. Sylvia is the best source of answers for any questions your family might have. She relays information between school personnel and parents both in the office and on the phone.
Email: smontes@brasscitycharter.org


PRE-K 

Elese Montambault, 
emontambault@brasscitycharter.org
Parissa Amiri, Assistant Teacher

Jennifer Rodriguez, Teacher, jrodriguez@brasscitycharter.org
Nadia Dennis, Assistant Teacher

Carla McBean-Williams, Floater

KINDERGARTEN

Emily Bees, Teacher, 
ebees@brasscitycharter.org
Julia Longo, Assistant Teacher

Jillian Pizzo, Teacher, jpizzo@brasscitycharter.org
Brittany Santos, Assistant Teacher

Lynn Wilczewski, Floater 


1ST GRADE

Melissa Gibran, Teacher, 
mgibran@brasscitycharter.org
Tish Crutchfield, Assistant Teacher


Sara Naber, Teacher, snaber@brasscitycharter.org
Deirdre-Ashley English, Assistant Teacher


2ND GRADE TEACHERS

Sandra Davy, Teacher, sdavy@brasscitycharter.org
Gris Gutierrez-Barrientos, Assistant Teacher

Olivia Degennaro, Teacher, odegennaro@brasscitycharter.org 
Alexus Templeton, Assistant Teacher

3RD-GRADE TEACHERS  

Becca Caravellobcaravello@brasscitycharter.org
Cara Poeta, Assistant Teacher


Miranda Malizia,
mmalizia@brasscitycharter.org
Dylan Reidl, Assistant Teacher


4TH-GRADE TEACHERS

Heather Barbuto, hbarbuto@brasscitycharter.org
Emma Ciervo, Assistant Teacher

Katherine Georgetti, kgeorgetti@brasscitycharter.org

Hannah West, Assistant Teacher


5TH-GRADE TEACHERS

Laura Sergi,  lsergi@brasscitycharter.org  
Brianna Nixon, Assistant Teacher

Alana Contreras, acontreras@brasscitycharter.org
Daveisha Augustin, Assistant Teacher

6TH-GRADE TEACHERS

Jamie Murphy, jmurphy@brasscitycharter.org

Joanna Vann, jvann@brasscitycharter.org


7TH-GRADE TEACHERS

Jason Cargill, Math, jcargill@brasscitycharter.org

Jonathan Gotterer, History, jgotterer@brasscitycharter.org

8TH-GRADE TEACHERS

Jason Burger, ELA, jburger@brasscitycharter.org




PHYSICAL EDUCATION 

Kenneth Engelhard, kengelhard@brasscitycharter.org

DANCE

Chelsea Massey, cmassey@brasscitycharter.org

SCIENCE 

Courtney Bauknecht, cbauknecht@brasscitycharter.org

Coding

Marissa Morin, mmorin@brasscitycharter.org

INTERVENTION TEAM

Amber Armack, aarmack@brasscitycharter.org

Shaneik Duffus-Blair, sblair@brasscitycharter.org

Stephanie Ferrara, sferrara@brasscitycharter.org

Arthur LaBonte, alabonte@brasscitycharter.org

Carrie Scalzo, cscalzo@brasscitycharter.org


SUPPORT SERVICES

Cassandra Reilly, creilly@brasscitycharter.org

Martin Augelli, maugelli@brasscitycharter.org

Katelynn Brody, kbrody@brasscitycharter.org






Select Special Education Services and School Nurse are provided by the City of Waterbury.